(Estd. 1907; Registration No. S-550, Delhi)
Regd. Office: Center for Advanced Study in Mathematics,
S. P. Pune University, Pune-411 007, Maharashtra

The General Secretary, Indian Mathematical Society (IMS),
invites applications from researchers working in Mathematics for the
to be given by the IMS every year.
Nominations for this award will also be considered.
The applications/nominations, along with the soft copy of the published paper and the documents indicating the proof of birth date/age should be sent to the General Secretary, IMS, by e-mail on the e-mail address so as to reach him on or before June 30 of the year of the Award.

Applications/nominations received after this date will not be considered.
Name of the Award:

Satish Bhatnagar Award.
(for best Publication in the History of Mathematics in India).

The Award:

(a) The award carries a a citation and a cash prize of Rs.10,000/- (Indian Rupees ten thousand only).
(b) The awardee will have to deliver a lecture based on the text of the paper for which the award has been conferred.
(c) The awardee will be paid TA to the extent of 2-AC rail fair from his/her place of residence in India or after landing in India (if not Indian citizen) and back. This expenditure will be incurred by the host institute that organizes the Annual Conference of IMS during the year. International travel shall not be supported in any event.
(d) The awardee will be provided free local hospitality and accommodation during the period of conference by the host institute.

Terms and Conditions:

(e) The paper must be in the area of History of Mathematics focusing on a person, problems, region, system of education or government.
(f) The paper should be under single authorship. In exceptional cases, a joint paper by two authors could be considered. In this case, the prize amount will be equally divided between the two authors.
(g) The author should be above 35 years of age as on the 31st December of the year of the Award. The author need not be an Indian citizen.
(h) Anyone who has a masters degree in mathematical sciences and Ph.D. in mathematics or in any other area (including history, political science, Sanskrit, archaeology, Indology etc.) is eligible to submit the paper.
(i) The papers considered must have been published either online or in print version during the year previuos to the year in which the award is being given.
(j) The author should not submit more than one publication for this award.
(k) The author(s) should submit a paper only for one award instituted by the Society.
(l) The paper sent for this award should not have been submitted or rejected for any other award.
(m) If there is no suitable quality paper in a particular year then this award may not be given in that year.

Modus operandi:

(n) The papers from all the contestants will be judged by at least three experts with impeccable record as mathematicians before finalizing by consensus the winner of the award.
(o) The experts may be named by the General Secretary in consultation with the President, the Academic Secretary and the two Editors, of JIMS and MS.
(p) The decision of the IMS shall be final and shall not be challanged in a court of law.

Prof. Satya Deo,
General Secretary, IMS,
Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Chhatnag Road,
Jhusi, Allahabad-211019 (Uttar Pradesh), India